Leave a comment

Fleur-de-lis Blue and Gold Dinner Table Decoration

In place before our Blue and Gold dinner. There are actually 2 different decorations in this photo, someone forgot to take a picture of just the wooden shape in place.

In place before our Blue and Gold dinner. There are actually 2 different decorations in this photo, someone forgot to take a picture of just the wooden shape in place.

While most Cub Scout Blue and Gold dinners are over for the year, I wanted to share this decoration idea before any more time passed. I made these last year for our Blue and Gold dinner, but they are sturdy enough to be used year after year.

I purchased a small 2′ x 2′ sheet of 1/2″ plywood (birch I believe).  Using the tablesaw I cut that sheet into 9 squares of just under 8″ This created enough boards to make 4 of the decorations, with one extra square in case I made a mistake. I’m not an expert wood worker, or I might have purchased a full sheet of the plywood so I could have cut even more of them, but as I have a small Cub Scout den, 4 allowed each Scout to paint 1 of the decorations.

The stages of my process.   Starting at top left: Blank, template, template glued to blank, partially cut, and finished cut.

The stages of my process. Starting at top left: Blank, template, template glued to blank, partially cut, and finished cut.

I found this Fleur-de-lis template online and printed it out scaled so it would fit on the plywood squares. I cut a little bit off the bottom of the template so there would be a flat section where the wooden shape would connect to the base. You can find more elaborate Fleur-de-lis designs online, but I wanted to keep the design simple.

Using some spray adhesive I glued the templates to 4 of the boards and then cut the shapes out on a bandsaw. After cutting them out, I used sandpaper to smooth out the shapes, and then pre-drilled holes in the center of the bases, and in the bottom of the shapes so I could connect them with screws after the Scouts painted them.

Paint job finished, and ready for display.

Paint job finished, and ready for display.

To keep it from taking too long, the Scouts used 1″ foam brushes to paint the shapes using some inexpensive acrylic craft paints purchased at the craft store.

Additional notes:

1) If I do this again, I might use glue and pegs made from a wooden dowel to connect the shapes to the base. Because I used a single screw to connect them, they tend to spin a bit during handling.

2) I used a table saw and bandsaw to cut the wood, I’m sure you could use other types of saws to do the cutting. In fact, with older Scouts you might even let the boys cut the shapes out themselves using a coping saw.

3) You could also use a Forstner bit to drill holes partially through the bases and make a place for a small tea light candle on each side of the shape.

Leave a Reply

