3 Comments

Why I Want to Lose Weight

MeSome of you may not know, but I’ve been watching what I eat a lot more closely lately. It is of course no secret that I am overweight obese, and I have been down the dieting path before with little luck. More accurately I lacked will, not luck. Plans and diets would start to work, but I would not stick with them long enough for significant results.

While this weight loss program/diet is still in its early stages, I thought I would take a few minutes to write down some of the reasons I am walking this path again. The reasons I want to succeed this time.

1) Clothes: certainly clothes are available in my size, but not everything, and not always easily acquired. Though I’m never going to be a tiny person, I’d like to walk into a department store and pick things out, rather than having to search out a Big and Tall store. I’d like to know if I see some cool t-shirt being sold, they’ll almost certainly have my size. I’d like to put on my Scout uniform and not feel like I’m an embarrassment to it.

2) Energy: yes, I’m a geek, nerd, dork, or whatever else you want to call it. My hobbies tend to lean towards reading, reading comics, video games, and other sedentary activities. Those things don’t mean that i wouldn’t like to have some more energy to get up and do things with the kids, or do small projects around the house and around the farm. I’d love to take the kids hiking a bit more, or canoeing. I just feel I should be doing more.

3) Fitness: perhaps this goes right along with energy. A couple weeks ago when taking Steven Paul to Boy Scout Summer camp, I found myself lagging far behind the Scouts as they moved from place to place. While I did not have to stop, I was just consistently behind them, arriving places a minute or two later than them. I know I am not as young as they are, but I also know I should be able to do a better job of keeping up to their pace.

4) Health: My blood pressure runs high, it has for a long time. Last month when I was sick, my sugar was high as well, and now I’ve added medication for diabetes to my daily rituals.  ‘nuf said.

I could have written a much longer list, breaking the above items down further. Maybe I could create a bucket lists of things I might like to do, but avoid because of my size, but I think those items sum it up fairly nicely.

I’ve been watching things closely for about 3 weeks now, following a diet plan the doctor gave me. It is going very well, and I’ve lost approximately 15 pounds. Long ways to go before I sound the victory bells, but a good start.

Safe travels,

Paul

3 comments on “Why I Want to Lose Weight

  1. Know what you are going through and it’s tough. I keep trying but it’s so easy to put it off until later. I admire you taking on this challenge and I could see the results before I came on this trip. Think you lost your britches one day when I was driving out of my driveway. lol
    Keep up the good work!

  2. Well, I guess the key is that it’s not about eating less or running marathons, but it’s about eating the right things at the right time and knowing how to balance. I don’t know how that’s done, by any means, but I’m also interested in getting to be a bit more healthy and sensible.
    Good on you for all this effort. It’s never easy to get started, and never easy to keep going. Just look at all that you’ve done already. You should be proud of you. 🙂

  3. Health and being able to be there for your kids are, hands down, the best reasons ever. Also, sharing what’s happening, how you’re doing, for good or ill, helps keep you accountable. I’m all for a healthy Paul and family, so I’m totally in your corner!

Leave a Reply

