5 Comments

E is for Elizabeth

E is for Elizabeth

My wife, the love of my life.

For those who don’t know, Elizabeth is my wife. Long ago she knocked some sense into me (as described yesterday in D is for Driving) and I haven’t looked back.

We met on a blind date, arranged by another couple. Apparently I did not talk very much that night, and my friend who arranged the date didn’t think much would come of it, but the friends who set up the date got me her phone number about 2 days after the date and I caller her that night.

I don’t know if it was love at first sight, but it certainly didn’t take long. The first time I said ‘I love you’, it slipped out while leaving a message on her answering machine. I was quite nervous waiting for her to call. We laugh about it now, but I was extremely nervous, and wondered if she would even call me back. Obviously she did, or this would be a whole different story, probably involving tears.

Within 2 years of our first date we were married. Though I’d lived in North Carolina for about 18 months before we started dating, she happily introduced me to the culture of rural North Carolina. Her family included me in family reunions, and pig pickings. They taught me barbecue wasn’t just a thick ketchup-based sauce.

Last week we celebrated our 15th anniversary, and I could not imagine my life without her in it.

Elizabeth, I love you!

Everyone else, thank you for reading!

Safe travels,

Paul

 

5 comments on “E is for Elizabeth

  1. We got REAL lucky when we go you for a son-in-law. Love you bunches. You make right cute babies too.

  2. Aweeee so sweet!! Sometimes “blind-dates” are great. Jeff & I were set up by mutual friends & after 6 to 7 months later we were married & here we are 18 yrs later & he is my soul & my life, my best friend!!! Love stories like this!! Congrats!!

  3. (Hmmm, I had started writing a comment and something happened (I pressed something) and I lost what I had written… anyway…)
    Nice to meet you, Elizabeth. Nice post! Brave of you two to go for a blind date. Having said that, my wife and I met in a kind-of-a-blind-date. That was back in 1997!
    Thanks for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

