Leave a comment

V is for Verizon

I’ve spoken here about how much I love living in the country. I get to see deer and other wildlife on a regular basis, there isn’t much traffic near my house, and while there are several other homes on the farm, we all have enough room of our own that we’re not on top of each other. The main downside to where I live is that we cannot get either cable or DSL connections for high speed internet, and so for approximately five years I’ve been using a cellular card from Verizon Wireless for my home internet connection.

Over that time, I’ve occasionally considered changing. My in-laws have satellite service for their internet and it seems to be a bit faster, but they’ve got a data cap, and I was lucky enough to get my Verizon card at a time when they sold an unlimited data plan. So, afraid to give up my unlimited data plan, I’ve stuck with Verizon.

Unfortunately, it looks like Verizon is going to be getting rid of the unlimited data plan and so I may begin seriously considering other options. They already offer an option for a hot spot style device that comes with a 10 GB limit instead of the normal 5 GB most of their plans stop at, but it also sounds like when they phase out the unlimited plan they may add some additional data plans, so it may be too soon to decide whether it will be worth staying with them, but I want to have some idea of what I’d like to do before they pull the plan out from under me.

If you know of an alternate connection method for someone in a rural area, leave a comment!

Leave a Reply

