Leave a comment

U is for Ukulele

Just before Christmas my wife bought me a ukulele. Someone local listed it for sale on a Facebook group, and because I’d always wanted one, my wife bought it for me.

When be bought it the ukulele looked like brand new, and still does today, because though I really wanted it, I just haven’t taken the time to start trying to learn how to play it.  Perhaps I should have put learning to play the ukulele on my bucket list last month?

Want to hear some folks who do know how to play the ukulele?  Here are a few links:

1) Amanda Palmer – musician with a dream. She’s doing everything she can to tear down the classic relationship between artists and record labels by taking her music straight to the people. In fact she’s not the only artist on this list doing that, but she may be the most successful at it….for now. Warning, some of her lyrics are NSFW (Not Safe For Work), as is her attitude.

2) Julia Nunes – YouTube sensation. Became popular posting cover songs on YouTube, and last year ran a very successful Kickstarter to raise the money to record her most recent album. Clicking her name takes you to one of my favorite songs by her, and this link will take you to her website.

3) Molly Lewis – another product of YouTube. Plays a lot of great covers. Very popular among the geek set, not sure if there’s an extra geek song by her I’ve managed to miss, or if it’s just one of those things. Link takes you to her YouTube cover of Patsy Cline’s Crazy.

Perhaps I’ll get myself together and start practicing the ukulele. Maybe I can take it on a camping trip and play it at the camp fire for the Scouts. Might want to reconsider that; if I don’t play well enough the Scouts might decide the uke belongs in the campfire.

Leave a Reply

