1 Comment

DungeonBriefs

For those of you who only read my gaming posts, I’ve been doing the A to Z April Blogging Challenge in my personal blog.  Today my post is a bit more gaming focused, so I decided to post here and then repost it over to my personal blog.

The nightmare has existed in Dungeons and Dragons since the 1st Edition AD&D Monster Manual published in 1977. While I’ve never been a huge fan of running demons, and devils in my D&D games, the nightmare come from the lower planes where these creatures dwell, though they can also serve as mounts for powerful evil beings.

I like the imagery associated with the nightmare.  Even without pictures, or miniatures, describing this black horse racing across an open plain trailing fire from its hooves and mane, perhaps even leaving a trail of small fires in its wake.

I’ve probably most frequently used the nightmare…

View original post 138 more words

One comment on “

  1. I kind of like it. If the DM did it right, it would be appropriately horrifying to see this coming at you in a game.

    Jessica
    A to Z Blogger & SF/Fantasy Writer @ Visions of Other Worlds

Leave a Reply

