4 Comments

A is for Amen

Church WindowI am a Christian.

I wasn’t always. I’ve gone through many periods of doubt in my lifetime, but it seems I always work my way back around to Christianity.

Since having kids, I find faith a little easier to come by. In part because I recognize the importance of community in raising my children. The collection of activities within the church, both those activities which are directly tied to religion, and those related to helping those less fortunate provide a framework for socialization, and a moral education for my children. Even if they don’t learn the lessons immediately, I hope the memories will remain with them to help guide them in the future.

Raising children has also made me realize that no matter how long I speak, or how many words I use, my children will never fully understand the things I am trying to teach them. And no matter how logical I think my reasoning is, in the end, sometimes ‘Because I said so‘ just has to be enough of a reason for my kids to do the things I ask of them, because I’ll never get them to understand my reasoning.

And though I consider myself a Christian, I’m not sure I’ll ever fully understand the Bible.Β  Which parts should I be reading literally, and which are allegory? How come two stories of the same even seem to differ? I’ve decided I shouldn’t feel too badly about that though. In the 2000 years since Jesus came to earth, dozens, if not hundreds of religions have been based on the Bible, and rarely do two of them agree completely, so how can I expect to be the one person who fully understands it all?

My thoughts may be sacrilege to some, and for that I apologize. I don’t speak of my faith a lot, but for a number of reasons that I’m not ready to share yet, I’ve been thinking about it a lot recently.Β  With this blogging challenge starting during the Easter season, I thought it might be a good way to kick things off.

Peace, love, and bacon grease!

Paul

4 comments on “A is for Amen

  1. I’m a Christian too and while I don’t fully understand the Bible either (and never will) it’s okay. I have faith. And that’s enough strength to stand on. πŸ™‚

    Nice to meet you through A-Z

  2. Hi πŸ™‚ This was a nice post. It made me smile when you said that sometimes ”because I said so” has to be enough of a reason for your children. It reminded me of something my mum told me, when I asked her why I can’t sleep with an electric blanket on. “because I say so” she responded, and when I questioned this, she replied that ”because I said so” was her own mother’s response to the same question. So now, she often jokingly says, ”because my mummy said so”! It’s kind of sweet I think πŸ™‚

    It’s nice to meet you!

    Nikki – inspire nordic

    • Good to meet you as well. The horrible thing is, I know I was the same way with my mother as my kids sometimes are with me, asking question after question as they try to get to the final reason, and yet they I never quite seem to get there for them and have to shift to the ‘because’ type answer before they drive me crazy.

Leave a Reply

