4 Comments

Slow Cooked Chuck Roast

approximately 3 lbs chuck roast
1 medium onion – quartered
Salt and pepper
1 packet brown gravy mix
1 packet ranch dressing mix
1 packet Italian dressing mix
1 1/2 cup cold water (divided)
1 cup red wine
1 tablespoon corn starch

Place roast and onion in slow cooker.
Sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste.  In separate bowl mix gravy and dressing mixes with 1 cup of the water and the red wine.
Cook in slow cooker on high for 6-8 hours.
Spoon corn starch into remaining 1/2 cup water and stir, then pour into crock pot, stir well, and let cook for 10-15 more minutes.

Serve over buttered egg noodles, or with your favorite sides.

Notes:

This recipe was a combination of several ideas I found while Google-ing chuck roast recipes.  If I were to do it again I might try cutting the initial amount of water and wine to 1/2 cup each.  That said, it was delicious and extremely tender.  I’ll definitely be cooking this again.

My wife and I are not big wine drinkers, but we had recently bought some Red Velvet Wine from Cupcake Vineyards and used it to make this dish.

In the picture you can see I served the roast with mashed potatoes and corn.  The corn came from a batch we blanched, then removed from the cob with a corn cutter, then bagged and froze.  While I’m not militant about being a localvore I’ve been trying to make better use of locally grown produce, and this corn was grown within a few miles of our home.

Hope you enjoy!

Peace, love, and bacon grease!

Paul

4 comments on “Slow Cooked Chuck Roast

  1. This looks like the perfect fall recipe!

  2. I have no idea what chuck is, but it looks perfectly cooked and bloody delicious.

    • I’m no expert on exactly where the every cut comes from, but it is part of the shoulder, and it’s usually pretty cheap. The long slow cook did make for a wonderful meal though. I used the edge of a serving spoon to cut it into pieces, then spooned them onto the plate because when I tried to use a fork it would just break into bite sized bits.

Leave a Reply

